DIY- Burberry Inspired Trench Coat

Burberry Trench

Burberry heart trench coatburberry-dark-camelblack-heart-print-calfskin-trench-coat-product-2-11759981-158361716_large_flexburberry-prorsum-heart-print-ponyskin-trench-coat2-768x1024

Yes go ahead rub your tired little blogging eyes and take another look. This OUTSTANDING, AMAZING, REMARKABLE coat is in fact $11,000. Stick with me and I’ll show you how I made my version for 13….. dollars. Yes rub your eyes again, not only did I purchase a trench coat and the fabric to make Burberry’s much cheaper {looking} hehe and cheaper version of this amazing fashion God send of a coat it cost me a total of $13 dollars to do so. Although I would like to start a jar much like I do for many of my larger fashion statement items there is no jar large enough that could hold my savings for this coat, let’s be honest this sales loving girl could never justify spending $11,000 on one singular item especially because I love calf’s and this is made of calf skin, sadly not even my love for animals would stop me on this one *bites tongue*.

Although this trench coat makes me weak at the knees, makes me drool and honestly could make me skip that second helping of Ben & Jerry’s if it meant I would look better in this I immediately started wracking my brain on how I could get my greedy little fashion loving hands on something like this. Now that I have completely glorified this trench coat above let me get on with it, so here we go! My Burberry DIY Trench Coat. Make sure you watch the video at the end! I’ve searched the web for this and I think I’m the first one to come up with this idea of actually execute and share so yay!

IMG_1390

What you’ll need:
– Scissors
– Fabric
– Hot glue gun/ hot glue
– Needle & thread
-White Colored Pencil
– Trench Coat!

IMG_1394

Founds this baby at goodwill for $20 the color of the week was yellow so I got this for 1/2 at $10 I couldn’t say no!

IMG_1395 IMG_1397

IMG_1401  IMG_1399

Before

IMG_1403

Use the white colored pencil to draw your heart patterns on your fabric. I found this fabric at Jo- Ann’s fabric for $5.99 a yard, however fabric is always on sale there so I got a yard of fabric for $3!

IMG_1416

I folded my fabric over four times and drew 6 hearts on each strip. This equates to about 96 hearts. All in all it took me about an hour to cut all the hearts, I then spent another half hour perfecting each heart that so that they were as neat as possible.

*Spritzer tip: If I do choose to do this project again I may opt for lace instead, lace hearts would really make this coat stand out and the way the heart would fold over itself would give the trench coat a more elegant appeal. If you try this, think about using lace for a more feminine look! (As if a coat made of hearts isn’t feminine enough).

IMG_1417

I started to hot glue the hearts on my trench coat and placed each heart diagonal from the other. Although I knew it wouldn’t  be perfect like the Burberry print I did try to make all the hearts the same size, but some are larger than the other however from a distance you can’t really tell. I strayed from the original pattern a little and made smaller hearts for the belt straps.

It is important to lay your trench out flat while placing the hearts on the fabric. I used hot glue to secure the hearts in place. I dabbed three small dots of hot glue on each corner of each cut-out heart.

IMG_1418

When I was done gluing the hearts on, I went back and sewed a knot in the middle of each heart for added security.

IMG_1419

IMG_1428 IMG_1433 IMG_1436 IMG_1438 IMG_1440

After

This project took me a total of 2 1/2 hours, but I was also filming and taking pictures in between. It was really fun and really easy! . Depending on the size of the pattern you choose (it doesn’t have to be hearts) it might take you longer. I really like how this turned out, I hope I’ve inspired you to create your own designer knock off. I would suggest checking your local thrift store for a trench coat in your size, mine is a size too big but you can’t really tell. $11,000 vs. $13 hmmm. If you can’t find one H&M and Old Navy have great trenches at affordable prices.

Don’t forget to check out my personal style blog this weekend to see how I style this trench!
xodiyspritzer

17 thoughts on “DIY- Burberry Inspired Trench Coat

  1. Wow, this is a a very unique DIY! You’re the first person I have ever seen do a DIY recreation jacket!
    Btw, your jacket is wayyyy cuter. I really like the color and texture. The results are lovely as well! 🙂

My spritz on this is...

