Color Wheel Challenge: Mix & Match

Happy Monday lovelies! What better way to beat the Monday blues than with a challenge! One of my best friends is currently attending FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, she has always been oh so fashionable and I’ve always been inspired by her great passion for fashion, mostly the amount of color she incorporates into her wardrobe.  I was just thinking to myself well I love fashion, and I believe that you don’t  have to go to a fashion school to learn how to dress well. To be honest it wasn’t until I started this blog that I realized just HOW MUCH black, cream, and grey I wore. I always joked about it but never thought much about it past that point. I wanted to offer some insight to some of you who may feel this way too, but it requires you to step out of your box and be your own stylist.

You may be thinking that this is a bad time to incorporate color into your wardrobe, as fall starts to set in. Some of us may think that only dark colors are acceptable and now is the time to be all matchy matchy because summer is over, I’m here to say nay to that and yay to the color wheel! This challenge will serve two purposes

1) If you feel that your fashion style is too “safe” and want to learn how to liven it up, this is a great way to self educate and learn how to re-match pieces that you already own. No need to spend extra money.

2) If you want to be bold but you just don’t know how? Keep calm and read on. I’ll run through the specifics real quick.

You don’t have to blog about it or even track your progress, just challenge yourself to be daring and bold with your colors this week, but if you want to share your experience with others, this is the challenge for you!

Color Wheel Blog

Rules:

1) If you are participating, simply leave a comment below saying so. On Saturday I will create a blog post with pictures from all participants and links to your blogs (Even if it’s just me haha- expect a photo montage next Sunday).

2) Use the color wheel to create bold fashion looks using colors that you wouldn’t normally pair together. Document your progress, or simply send me an e-mail at glitzyspritzer@live.com so you can be included in Saturday’s post!

3) Hastag!

Instagram: #CWC
Twitter: #CWC

Helpful Information:

You can make the following combos using the color wheel as your guide:

1. Colors directly next to each other (i.e. yellow and yellow-orange; yellow and yellow-green; violet and blue-violet, etc.)

2. Colors that form right (90 degree) angles with each other (i.e. yellow and red-orange; blue and violet-red; green and orange, etc.)

3. Colors directly across from each other (i.e. yellow and violet; blue and orange; red and green, etc.) 4. Colors that form a T (i.e. blue, orange, and violet-red; yellow, violet, and red-orange; yellow, blue-green, and red-orange, etc.)

5. Colors that form an X (i.e. blue, orange, violet-red, and yellow, violet, blue-green, and red-orange, etc.)

Note: Brown can essentially be paired with almost anything, and it’s the perfect fall color! Happy mix and matching!

Source: FashionBombDaily

Definitions:

Primary colors: Red, blue and yellow.

Secondary colors: Purple (red & blue), orange (red & yellow) and green (yellow & blue)-The colors you get from mixing any two primaries

Complementary colors: Primaries and secondaries together give us complementary colors.  The complement of the color is the color directly across from it on the color wheel, or if starting with a primary, the color made from mixing the other two primaries.
– Red`s compliment is Green
– Yellow`s complement is Purple
– Blue`s complement is Orange.

*So if you want to make a bold statement, the primaries are the best way to go.

1) Determine the dominant color, this will be your base.  If you are working with a pattern find one color that sticks out.

2) Find the compliment of this color on your color wheel.

3) Look at the triad colors next to the complement. This is where you get creative!

xochallengespritzer

8 thoughts on “Color Wheel Challenge: Mix & Match

    1. Yessssss, I was hoping you would join! Yay I’m excited. I’ll be printing one for my closet shortly haha. Thank you, lookin forward to seeing it! You are a natural though so I’m sure it will be a breeze for you.

  1. Oh yes, I definitely want to try this. Have you ever used a linkup tool? might be worth it for this type of challenge?

    try Linky Tools, that’s a linkup tool that I’ve seen that I like.

My spritz on this is...

